2012 Beckwith-Taylor Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to our latest Beckwith-Taylor Scholarship recipients Thomas Payne and Clint Perkins IV! The Beckwith-Taylor Scholarship is awarded in memory of Jerry Beckwith and Don Taylor who contributed to the early development of Landmark Learning's direction and philosophy. This Scholarship is awarded to five candidates each year who show a commitment to developing themselves as outstanding risk management leaders in their outdoor community. The following are comments from our December Beckwith-Taylor Scholarship recipients:

Thomas Payne reflects: “I have really enjoyed my experience while being here at the Landmark Learning Base. Everyone in the course has been great to work with and super nice. Class time has been filled with challenging hands on training without boring busy work. The instructors keep you involved, are great at keeping students alert, and have the knowledge to answer any questions that students may have. I believe this course will steer me in the right direction for the career I choose in the outdoor industry. It has also shown me a new way of thinking about how to care for others. I am planning now to become an EMT and join my local Volunteer Fire Department. While I am still in undergraduate school, my WFR will help me out when I lead backpacking trips. I am confident that I will feel more prepared now, should an emergency arise while I am in the outdoors.”